Heri. Yesterday I was on cloud nine. I'd started this blog the night before. The next morning I ironed out the details for going on the Iter Romanum with Nancy. (Still cannot believe it.) So, I was high all day. And, I'd just worked out that I was going to really, really do this Latin thing in class. I chatted it up with Magister in Latin on and off all day. I scored high on the Latin meter in levels 5 & 6. There were even Latin conversations among students working in my room after school. In the moment, I got myself going and did it. Seemed like I had begun a new life in my classroom. I was prepared to live like this for the rest of eternity . . . soon the idea of not being primarily in Latin during my day at school would be a cloudy, murky, bad-hair-day memory -- something like adolescence.
Cannot, cannot believe that I'm going to Rome with Nancy!!
Hodie. Today I woke up late. I located an outfit, stumbled around the kitchen, and raced out of the door. Always fun.
At school, I found a day unfriendly to me. My latin I's are all at different places, so I'm monumentally confused at every turn. I'm trying to get across the content of the Aeneid in English so that they will be able to participate in the Vergil-a-thon as audience members. So we're at the end of Book II, and reviewing for the quiz on this. That's one thing in English.
Also, it's registration time, so I'm talking to them about next year, and the merits of Latin study with them. It's requisite. I get that I have to do it. But it really cut into Latine tantum time. (And also, a huge part of me wants to say: "Take it or don't! Do what you want! If I've not shown you the beauty of this thing that I love, I have nothing more to say.") That's a second thing in English.
In V we were in the registration mode too ("am i good enough for ap???"), and in V & VI both the students were writing down their likes and dislikes about the class for me. I could've tightened it up. But I let them sort of comment and get comfortable and I just didn't change to Latin. So, V and VI were mostly in English . . . i really hate it when those classes miss out.
And, I was tired and hungry most of the day. I had to teach an extra class: the other Latin I teacher is also a librarian and was out for a meeting. And, I hadn't had time to get my usual nutrients lined up and packed at home b/c of oversleeping. (When will I grow up???)
So, today I fell off of the wagon. I'm mad at myself. I don't think I tried very hard.
But I did do one cool thing: A student was all decked out in "Twilight" garb. We found the word for "twilight" in Latin ('crepusculum.') Now I can use that word on her . . . that's cool.
I guess I'll try again tomorrow. But I don't even want to since I already am disgusted with myself.
Sigh. Tomorrow. I'll. Try. Again.
I will.